Favorite Authors

Here’s a list of my favorite authors I’ve read over and over, and authors who are bound to rank among my favorites, partially because of their readability, if not because of the way they tell stories, or the way they’ve stuck in my mind and influenced my writing.

I’ve put the specific works by the author that have influenced me in parentheses, and if an author does not have a specific work in parentheses, it probably means I’ve read more than one of their books. I mostly qualify the authors by how much they’ve influenced my writing, and how much they’ve  remained in my mind over the years.

Note that I’ll probably update the list often, because what list ever remains the same?

  • David Foster Wallace (Infinite Jest, Good Old Neon- from Oblivion)
  • Georges Simenon (Dirty Snow)
  • J.D. Salinger (Franny and Zooey, specifically Zooey)
  • William Faulkner
  • Denis Johnson (Jesus’ Son)
  • Breece D’J Pancake
  • Nikolai Gogol (Dead Souls)
  • Cormac McCarthy (All the Pretty Horses)
  • David Almond (Skellig)
  • John McGahern (By the Lake)
  • Raymond Carver
To a lesser extent:
  • Kurt Vonnegut
  • Jesse Ball (The Way Through Doors)
  • Flann O’Brien (At Swim Two Birds)
  • William Gaddis (Specifically: The Recognitions, and Carpenter’s Gothic)
  •  Philip K. Dick
  • P.G. Wodehouse
  • Albert Camus (The Stranger)
  • Franz Kafka
  • China Mieville (Embassytown)
  • H.P. Lovecraft
  • Yasunari Kawabata (Palm-of-the-Hand Stories)
  • Graham Greene (The Quiet American)
  • Kazuo Ishiguro (Remains of the Day)
  • Fyodor Dostoevsky
  • Thomas Pynchon
  • Jacques Roubaud (The Great Fire of London–Am not even finished reading this)
  • William Maxwell (They Came Like Swallows)
2 responses to “Favorite Authors

Leave a Reply

