What I’m Reading


Nicholson Baker's Vox

So, while waiting for the metro, I was reading this book, which is pretty good so far.

I laughed at this part, though:

“‘Did you see that thing about the Chinese kid who suffered an episode of spontaneous human combustion?’

‘No.’

‘You really missed something. It was originally in one of the tabloids, I think, but I heard about it on the radio. You know about spontaneous human combustion, right?’

‘I’m familiar with the general concept.’

‘All right, well this kid apparently spontaneously human combusted, but the combustion was confined to his genitals. Boom! He was very uncomfortable. But see, I understand perfectly how that could happen. I fear for my own genitals sometimes.’”

4 responses to “What I’m Reading

Leave a Reply

